site hit counter Skip to main content

Holes In The Head

Pub Date : 2016-06-13 | Author : John W. Verano | Publisher : Dumbarton Oaks Research Library & Collection

ISBN 10 : 0884024121
ISBN 13 : 9780884024125

Trepanation is the oldest surgical procedure known from antiquity, but its origins, evolution, and the reasons for doing it remain unclear. "Holes in the Head" examines trepanation..

Living With The Dead In The Andes

Pub Date : 2015-05-14 | Author : Izumi Shimada | Publisher : University of Arizona Press

ISBN 10 : 9780816531745
ISBN 13 : 0816531749

The Andean idea of death differs markedly from the Western view. In the Central Andes, particularly the highlands, death is not conceptually separated from life, nor is it viewed a..

Ritual Violence In The Ancient Andes

Pub Date : 2016-07-26 | Author : Haagen D. Klaus | Publisher : University of Texas Press

ISBN 10 : 9781477310588
ISBN 13 : 1477310584

Traditions of sacrifice exist in almost every human culture and often embody a society's most meaningful religious and symbolic acts. Ritual violence was particularly varied and en..

Vertical Empire

Pub Date : 2012-11-06 | Author : Jeremy Ravi Mumford | Publisher : Duke University Press

ISBN 10 : 9780822353102
ISBN 13 : 0822353105

In 1569 the Spanish viceroy Francisco de Toledo ordered more than one million native people of the central Andes to move to newly founded Spanish-style towns called reducciones. Th..

100 Colorful Granny Squares To Crochet

Pub Date : 2013-03-19 | Author : Leonie Morgan | Publisher : Macmillan

ISBN 10 : 9781250025128
ISBN 13 : 1250025125

Presents the basic techniques for crocheting granny squares, along with instructions for one hundred projects that include unique color combinations, embellishments, and eight diff..

Scorper

Pub Date : 2015-10-01 | Author : Rob Magnuson Smith | Publisher :

ISBN 10 : 1783781068
ISBN 13 : 9781783781065

A tender black comedy that cuts right to the heart of a curious English town, for fans of Nicola Barker, Patrick deWitt and Ali Smith..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *